Discover A World Cruise With Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines


In 2025, Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines is offering a brand-new 106-night ‘Voyage of Exploration Around the World’ cruise which is inspired by journeys of historic and fictional explorers.

We’re highlighting this incredible sailing in our blog today because something this wonderful really needs its own platform!

Following Explorers Footsteps

Departing from Southampton on 6th January 2025, Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines’ flagship Bolette will follow a similar route to the first world circumnavigation by explorers Magellan and Elcano in 1519.

This epic voyage, which will take guests to destinations including Brazil, Argentina, French Polynesia, Mauritius, and South Africa, will also cruise the south coast of Australia as British navigator Matthew Flinders did in 1801 and will call into places visited by the likes of Captain James Cook and Alexander Selkirk – the Scottish Sailor who was the inspiration for the Robinson Crusoe novel.


Bolette at sea

Cultural Experiences

During the first half of the voyage, there will be chances to enjoy the traditional and cultural art forms of South America, with opportunities to learn more about the Samba beats in Rio de Janeiro or learn the techniques of the Tango in Argentina. From here, guests can enjoy scenic cruising to admire the snow-capped peaks and rugged landscapes of the Chilean fjords and take a tour to see the iconic Iguazu Falls.

Throughout the cruise, there will be chances to gain cultural insight into many societies and civilisations and encounter a variety of native wildlife including Magellanic Penguins in South America, Koalas and Kangaroos in Australia or the ‘Big Five’ in South Africa.

Chilean Fjords

Cruise the Chilean Fjords

World Cruise itinerary

Bolette’s 106-night ‘A Voyage of Exploration Around the World’ cruise departs primarily from Southampton, however, there is also an option to depart from and return to Liverpool – joining Bolette on January 4th.

Itinerary: Southampton, England – Funchal, Madeira – Mindelo, São Vicente, Cape Verde – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – Montevideo, Uruguay – Buenos Aires, Argentina – Cruising Magellan Strait – Punta Arenas, Chile – Cruising by Cape Deseado – Cruising Chilean Fjords – Castro, Chile – Valparaiso, Chile – Robinson Crusoe Island, Chile – Cruising by Alejandro Selkirk Island – Hanga Roa (Easter Island), Chile – Cruising by Pitcairn Island – Papeete, Tahiti, French Polynesia – Bora Bora, Society Islands, French Polynesia – Rarotonga, Cook Islands – Crossing the International Date Line – Nuku’alofa, Tonga – Sydney, Australia  – Hobart, Tasmania, Australia – Melbourne, Australia – Albany, Australia – Fremantle (Perth), Australia – Port Louis, Mauritius – Port Réunion, Réunion Island – Gqeberha, South Africa – Cape Town, South Africa – Walvis Bay, Namibia – Jamestown, St Helena – Cruising by Ascension Island – Dakar, Senegal – Arrecife, Lanzarote – Lisbon, Portugal – Southampton, England


Cruises to Punta Arenas

The entire 106-night voyage is available to book now, but it can also be broken down and booked in segments, for those that can’t take 106-nights away.

World cruise segments are always very popular and you can view each option for this specific sailing on our dedicated world cruise segment page.

Embark on the journey of a lifetime with Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines.

Leave a comment

What do you think about this post?